Summer…meet Fall.

Do ya feel the nip in the air?  Huh?  Do ya!?

I do, and frankly, I’m glad.  Don’t judge me for liking the Fall weather better than Summer’s excruciating humidity.  Although there tend to me more ingredients to work with during the summer (cocktail-wise, that is), the Fall still lends itself to some wonderful favorites (enter Pomegranates, Apples, Pears, Cranberries, Maple Syrup…the list goes on.) 

I’ve gotten a bit creative, some may say a bit too much (is that possible?), on my current Fall cocktail menus at my bars.  I’ve introduced obscure ingredients, but really, is that unlike me?  I exaggerate…

With tomorrow being the first day of the Fall season, I urge you to try your local watering hole’s signature drinks – if, indeed, said watering hole is the type to change their menus around seasonally.  I cannot stress how important this is for any bar or restaurant to uphold.  Ok, I’m done preaching now. 

Here’s a recipe from my new cocktail menu at The Campbell Apartment.  It’s for a tasty concoction I call the “Anjou Cocktail.”

Anjou Cocktail

1 oz. Dewar’s Blended Scotch

1/2 oz. Averna

1 tsp. Wattleseed Extract **

1/2 oz. Honey Syrup **

1/4 of a ripe pear (Anjou Pear)

Directions:  Muddle the pear in the honey syrup.  Then add remaining ingredients and ice and shake very well.  Strain into martini glass.

Garnish: thin pear slice

**Wattleseed is the seed of the Acacia Tree, popular in Australia.  Very high in protein and nutrients.  We have it in extract form**

**Honey Syrup is simply 2 parts honey to 1 part water**

 

If you want to know more about this “Wattleseed” substance, visit Vic Cherikoff’s website:  www.cherikoff.net 

 

A big “Shout Out” to my pals taking the BAR course this week at Astor Center

 

http://www.kumah.org/2007/02/whats-with-acacia-plantation.html

This is an Acacia Tree

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    • September 2008
      M T W T F S S
      « Aug   Oct »
      1234567
      891011121314
      15161718192021
      22232425262728
      2930  
  • Search