Have you every tried a “Sloe-Groni”?

Simon Ford sure has a knack for throwing a party.  His all-day festivities are not for the faint of breath.  I for one, am one of those faint of breath blokes, and could only handle lunch.  Truth is, I had to work at The World Bar in the afternoon, so I couldn’t continue on with the ragamuffin group.  If I had my choice, I’d party on with Dave, Gary, Willy, Aisha (just to name a few), without a care in the world.  Oh the laments of a bartender. 

This festive time I speak of was for the launch of Plymouth Sloe Gin, a product that all of us cocktail geeks are very excited about.  It was also Wondrich’s birthday, and for that a party deserves to be had anyways.  We convened at “Cafe 202” in Chelsea Market, a place that proudly serves Stefan Trummer signature cocktails.  Today the cocktails were crafted out of Plymouth Sloe Gin, a deliciously floral, fruity liqueur made from the Sloe Berry – easily drinkable on its own.  A “Sloe-Groni” that was drunk a bit too easily on my part was a perfect brunch drink.  And the Sloe Gin Fizz was, of course, the drink of choice for many there.  In my libating, I associated with such folk as Willy Shine and Aisha Sharp, Gary Regan, Simon and Jamie from Plymouth, Gilles from Funkin, Alan Katz, Alex from Flatiron Lounge, etc.  Oh yeah, my old pops, Jeffrey, was there hamming it up at the other end of the table.

I brought my handy digital camera to capture some early moments from that day, and I’m very curious to see the photos of, oh, say, any time between 5pm and midnight from that evening.  I can only imagine what those rascals were up to.  My guess is that by 5pm, Willy somehow was able to combine Plymouth Sloe Gin and Guinness into a deliciously balanced “bomb” drink.  Sounds yummy!

The birthday boy himself.

Gary very much enjoyed Aisha’s Negroni that day.

Here’s what all the fuss was about.  And rightly so!

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    • April 2008
      M T W T F S S
      « Mar   May »
       123456
      78910111213
      14151617181920
      21222324252627
      282930  
  • Search