Defying the Cocktail World

Red Hook, Brooklyn NEEDS to be your next cocktail tour stop.  When I say NEED, I  mean NEED!  First place on your list in Red Hook is Fort Defiance.  You’ll be happy even if it’s your only stop in Red Hook.  If I sound very sure of myself, a bit too sure of myself, it’s because my mind has been altered after two recent meals at Fort Defiance.  Altered in a way I can’t really describe.  It’s like I’m kicking myself in the behind for not coming here sooner.

St. John Frizell is a good pal.  I’ve known him for a few years now, catching up with him from time to time at industry events and soirees.  In recent times (the past 2 years or so), I’ve seen quite a bit less of him.  It’s because he’s had this project of his very own, his little baby (he really does have a little baby, so perhaps that analogy doesn’t really apply), a bar with an amazing cocktail program and delicious plates of grub to go along with it.

Dinner here hit the spot.  And so did brunch.  That spot is still full.  I can’t wait to return once the spot is empty.  The pimento cheese was rockin – the deviled eggs devilishly good – the short ribs nothing short of fantastic – and the drinks:

Kentucky Nightcap – steamed milk, bourbon, and vanilla – soothed my soul.

Joe Ray – Gin, Cointreau, vermouth, bitters – so lovely

Sidecars – flowing like wine, especially at a special price of $5 a pop!

Needless to say, I recommend this place.  If you go, call me, ’cause I want to go back.  Unless you want to be alone with your sweetie, in which case,  I understand.  Sort of.

St. John Frizell himself, standing proudly behind his bar.

 Fort Defiance Brooklyn is located at:

365 Van Brunt St. (corner of Dikeman)

Brookly, NY 11231

347-453-6672

www.fortdefiancebrooklyn.com

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.