No Huckleberries at Huckleberry Bar?

It may be a bit infantile of me to think that huckleberries would make an appearance somewhere on the cocktail list at Billyburg’s hot new cocktail lounge, Huckleberry Bar

Well, call me little Jimmy.  Nada – no huckleberries, or berries of any nature, for that matter.  Just classic, well-mixed, prohibition-era-inspired drinks, (like an Amerigo Vespucci, or an Edward Bulwer-Lytton) and those classic standby’s (like Sazeracs and Sherry Flips).  I chose the latter of the original cocktail creations, the one that starts with the word Edward…  For a drink that had Gosling’s Rum infused with ginger, the ginger flavor barely came through, a bit over-crowded by the creme de cacao.  I enjoyed it as I kept drinking it – which tends to happen with a lot of dark spirit cocktails. 

Huckleberry Bar’s dark spirits collection is impressive, but isn’t that the norm nowadays?  What was fairly unique were the panini sandwiches that were being prepared to order right there behind the long bar.  I enjoyed my Prosciutto Pressed Sandwich with aged gouda cheese and rhubarb butter. 

The DJ was pumping, and the late-night hipster crowd seemed a bit tame for a Friday night.  My friends and I would have loved to sit outside on their outdoor patio (which seemed nice and laid-back, and quite expansive), but alas they close it around 1am.  And 1am is when we arrived.  Oh well, I’ll save that for next time – and I’ll make sure to bring the huckleberries with me.

3 Comments

  1. Loved reading your post. Actually there are huckleberries on the menu. We serve a Chocolate Cooked Cream with Creme Fraiche and Huckleberry Compote. When huckleberries are officially “in season” (middle of August) there will be a huckleberry cocktail called the “Doc Holiday.” It was featured in the last issue of Imbibe Magazine. Come and check it out!

  2. Well, seams I’ve been mistaken! Thanks for writing in, Stephanie. I’ll be sure to come by in August to try the Doc Holiday when the Huck’s are in season. Cheers!

  3. Give their cheeses a try too when you return – I’m not so excited about three of the five on the menu, but the Shropshire Blue and the Boerenkaas have a ton of complex flavor, and I find myself craving them the next day.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.