Swaying Skirts Abound

The pleasure of cocktail mixing for 6 different women’s magazine editorial staffs has been given to me by the fine folks at Smirnoff Vodka in recent days.  I’ve completed two of these six, those two being for ‘Bust’ magazine and ‘InStyle’ magazine.  Everyone at both offices were pleasures to serve and speak to.  Vodka does hold a very important stronghold on the American culture, and it’s history is quite interesting.  First consumed in 13th century Russian, Vodka (derived from the Russian word for water, ‘Voda’), soon became the official beverage of the royal Czars and Czarinas.  In 1934, vodka was introduced by one brand in particular, as ‘white whiskey,’ for Americans had never experienced this potent elixir before.  Smirnoff was this brand, and Americans are forever indebted to them. 

I mixed up 4 signature Smirnoff cocktails, 3 of which included their two newest flavors: Smirnoff Passion and Smirnoff White Grape.  I’ve included the recipe for the most popular, it seemed at these gatherings, of the 4 cocktails.  This is not to say that the others were not a hit – oh believe you me, they were.  This one required just a tad more arm-power of me to deliver:

Swaying Skirt Martini

1 1/2 oz. Smirnoff Passionfruit

3/4 oz. Guava Nectar

3/4 oz. Fresh lime juice

3/4 oz. Simple syrup

Directions:  Shake all ingredients in a cocktail shaker with ice and strain into a chilled martini glass.

Garnish: cherry

smirnoff-logo.jpg

**Please note: I’m off to Vail, Colorado tomorrow for the 2008 Grand Marnier/Navan Mixology Summit.  From there I go off to Mexico with Herradura Tequila.  I know, I know, tough life.  I will blog from both locations  – don’t you worry now.

scared-skier.jpg

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment