Playing with chemicals…Molecular Mixology II

This here post is a continuation of last week’s post about spherification and the Cointreau event I went to.  I’ve included some more photos below, with captions that try to describe to you what it might be that you’re looking at.  Enjoy, and don’t ask questions because I won’t for the life of me be able to answer them for you:

005.jpg

These above are the two contraptions that are absolutely necessary to the spherifiwudymacallit process.  To the left, a scale to measure out your grams of liquid and chemical additives, and to the right, the magnetic thingie that spins your liquids around until a gel is created.

010.jpg

Pour gel into water/chemical mixture.  Out comes Cointreau caviar.

 

0081.jpg

Don’t they look good enough to just pop right into your mouth?

013.jpg

A kit of your very own for your bar or restaurant.  Make sure your bar-backs know what they’re doing, and that they don’t mistake the chemicals for salt…

 

015.jpg

The great view from the ‘Sky Room’ at the New Museum.

WARNING: Do not attempt unless you are fully trained on how to proceed with this process.  And if you do try, be careful of spontaneous shattering of glasses.

6 Comments

  1. hi I am a flair bartender and I do cocktails shows and mixology too.
    I leave in toulouse (france)
    I have a question : how much is the cost for your kit to make molecular cocktails ? i would like to know more about that and any information you could give me… i start in this,
    it’s really new for me
    thanks a lot

    • Hi there – I’ve forwarded your message to the brand ambassador for Cointreau – they will probably be able to help you out, as they have those molecular kits available. Hope this helps!

  2. What are these little Cointreau caviar balls like? Are they like tapioca pearls, jelly all the way to the center? Or are they more like a membrane or spherical casing that encloses the liquid Cointreau? Very very curious; I suggested this as a mathematical modeling problem to my (college) differential equations students, but I would like to get it right. If it’s a sort of solid jelly-thing, we’d try to predict how long until it dissolves. If a spherical shell encloses the alcohol, we may assume alcohol diffuses across the spherical surface and try to predict how long before the alcohol level inside the sphere and outside in the drink matches.

    • Hi Wavesdiva – very interesting that you’re attempting a mathematical equation for these pearls. I love it! In fact, these small pearls are very much like tapioca pearls. They have a similar depth and consistency, yet are a fair amount smaller than your typical tapioca pearls (I’d say approx. 3/4 the size). I hope this helps…

  3. hi im really interested to learn about molecular mixology and i like to get information about it. ill like to know where i can get a kit and information i hope u can help me
    tks alot miguel


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.